The Town of Conception Bay South is situated on the Northeast Avalon Peninsula, strategically located just 20 kilometers from St. John’s, the capital city of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Town of Conception Bay South is home to 24,848 residents. Conception Bay South is a part urban, part rural scenic community including quiet residential areas, outdoor recreation, industrial sites, a port and many commercial enterprises. The Town has a thriving business community and combined with its location, this makes Conception Bay South a great place to live and conduct business.

The Town was incorporated in 1973, and it consists of nine (9) communities, all of which follow the coastline of Conception Bay. It is one of the Province’s second largest municipality and is located a short drive from the airport. In addition to the excellent highway infrastructure, the Town has a modern Port, prime commercial land and major amenities.

Historically, the Port of Long Pond has played an important economic role, not only for the Town itself but also for Eastern Newfoundland and the Avalon Peninsula.  Ocean shipping activity is a very important aspect of the growth and development of Eastern Newfoundland in general. Exports from the Port of Long Pond include pyrophylite (Trinity Resources) and transshipment of oil (Woodward’s Oil). Imports include grain feed products (Country Ribbon Inc.) and cement (St. Lawrence Cement). It is recently serving as a port of call for offshore supply vessels.

The Long Pond Harbour Authority Inc. (LPHA) was formed in 1999 to investigate the long term potential for recreation and commercial development and activity for the Harbour in Conception Bay South. The Authority is comprised of seven members representing the commercial and recreational users and municipal staff. The Authority evolved as part of the Port Divestiture Program of Transport Canada. The Port was divested to the Long Pond Harbour Authority Inc. on March 30, 2013 who now owns and operates the Port.

Annual Report


  • Jennifer Lake  – Chair / Town Representative
  • Andrea Holloway – Treasurer / Industrial User
  • Stephen Decker – Director / Seventh Director
  • Brian Crawley – Director / Town Representative
  • Margo Soucy – Vice- Chair/ Business Representative
  • Rick Stanley – Director / Recreational Representative
  • Stephen Nicks – Director / Industrial User


  • Jim House – General Manager
  • Paul Trickett – Harbour Master / Marine Facility Security Officer
  • Beth Hanrahan – Administrative Coordinator